Wednesday, October 31, 2007

The Autumns - Fake Noise From A Box Of Toys

Label: Bella Union
Release Date: 10/2007

Dream-pop wakes up. Big time.

The Los Angeles-based band The Autumns are back with a new record Fake Noise From A Box of Toys, just in time for fall 2007. This album shattered my expectations and is easily my favorite record by the band.

The Autumns prove on the opening tracks "Boys" and "Clem" that they can deliver more than just sugary dream-pop tunes. These two outstanding tracks are loaded with aggressive guitars, whirling vocals, poppy choruses, and driving beats that will surprise you.

However, if you still want the sugary dream-pop, The Autumns provide some familiar sounds on track 4 "The Midnight Knock" and track 10 "The Beautiful Boot". Overall, the Brit-pop vibe prevails. "Glass Jaw" and "Adelaide" will smack you in the head if you're caught dreaming.

Other songs like ''Night Music", "Only Young", "Uncle Slim", also worth noting for their singable choruses and delightful melodies. The record ends passionately with "Oh My Heart", which turned out to be my favorite of the 12 songs.

The Autumns' enhanced pop sensibility and rock intensity will appeal to a wider audience, while still differentiating themselves from their contemporaries. Old-school Autumns fans need not worry, though, because there's still plenty of noise in this box of toys.

Check out some songs from Fake Noise From A Box Of Toys here.


Post a Comment

<< Home